Reviews

What people are saying about Blacksmiths Arms




Summary
4.8

Traditional Old Coaching Inn- Rating 5/5

Lovely location, a warm and welcoming arrival despite the freezing temperatures outside, a pub full of character and charm, we enjoyed the local beer and evening bar food with a great breakfast in the morning, very attentive and friendly hospitality. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer: Peter G | Sat 21st Jan 2023 | 1 year ago


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

It's not often when I travel for business I get to relax as much as I did on this occasion. Very comfortable suite and has good internet which is vital for a business trip. Lovely meals at night and excellent value.Such a peaceful place to stay in this lovely village and the owners of the Blacksmith Arms were welcoming and lovely people. I am looking forward to staying again next time I am working in the area.

Reviewer: Michael O | Fri 25th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Fantastic place to stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderfully cosy little place to stay. Friendly, warm staff who couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. Clean rooms with modern en-suite bathroom and shower. Great food and beer.

Reviewer: Martin G | Thu 24th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

The Blacksmiths Arms is a lovely local pub with a friendly welcome, fine ales and good food. Bedroom comfy with all the necessary facilities. We'd be happy to stay again.

Reviewer: Ray H | Mon 14th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


PERFECT BREAK (AND PEAFOWL TOO!). - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights in Room 5 on a room+breakfast deal. We are frequent visitors to the Blacksmith's Arms - a family run business where we have always felt "at home". As always, it lived up to expectations! The room was clean, warm and comfortable with views across the village including the aforementioned birds which live at a neighbouring house but appear to have the run of the village. The dining area has a welcoming open fire and meals (we had dinner both nights as well as the two breakfasts) are hearty and well cooked. There are 4 real ales available as well as a range of wines, all sensibly priced. Service was good and always helpful and the total bill for our enjoyable break was very reasonable. Geographically it provides an excellent base for visiting the Lakes, the Solway area and Carlisle. What's not to like?

Reviewer: JEREMY E | Mon 14th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Just had another wonderful overnight stay at the Blacksmiths Arms. Made to feel very welcome & had a lovely meal & a few drinks then off to bed in our own little lodge. Looking forward to our next stay already.

Reviewer: Anne A | Sat 5th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Overnight break - Rating 1/5

Stayed at the Blacksmiths Arms on Saturday night. The room was ready earlier than expected, great news.Clean warm room with everything one would expect. Large walk-in shower. Quick lunch in the bar and explore the area. Open fire in the evening and excellent pub food at reasonable prices. Three excellent hand pulled ales again sensibility priced. What made the stay special though was the really friendly and interesting staff who were genuineand engaging. Brilliant owners.If you want a clean friendly pub stay I can recommend The Blacksmiths Arms. Not pretentious, just in a lovely quiet village in stunning countryside.

Response

Thank you for the great comments about us. You may of by mistake just 1 star instead of the 5 we are used to getting. Hope to see you again soon. Gareth

Reviewer: Noel| Mon 31st Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Lovely little country Pub, a hidden treasure.- Rating 5/5

The Landlord and Landlady were friendly and accommodating, the staff as well. The meals were tasty and filling and the accommodation warm and comfortable and spacious.

Reviewer: Andrew H | Sat 29th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Out of this World - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts and a small well appointed bedroom with a comfortable bed and pillows to die for!! An excellent evening meal and breakfast the following morning. It's easy to see why they have so many certificates of recommendation on display. Have already decided to bring my wife with me when I next visit the area on business.

Reviewer: Richard G | Fri 28th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Delightful stay - Rating 5/5

The Blacksmiths Arms is a charming pub in a pretty village. The hosts were most welcoming, the accommodation was very comfortable and the food was of a high standard. We are only sorry that we had not planned to stay longer.

Reviewer: John E | Wed 19th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Bar
  • Breakfast Included
  • Cots Available
  • Country Retreat
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Family Room Available
  • Free Parking
  • Free Wifi
  • Freeview
  • Golfcourse (within 2 Miles)
  • Linen And Towels Provided
  • Parking On-site
  • Restaurant
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Vegan Options Available
  • Walking Holidays
  • Wifi